History of the Conference

63 Years and Still Growing 1956/1957-2011/2019

 The Archdiocese of Miami sports program has come a long way in 63 years. Back in 1956-60 there were a handful of schools that played sports against each other. These schools did not belong to a league. They just played each other is two boys sports, basketball & baseball. Little did they know that this was the start of their first independent league. The original charter members were Sts. Peter & Paul, Our Lady of Perpetual Help, St Rose of Lima, Holy Family, and Immaculate Conception, St. John the Apostle, St. Theresa, and St. Mary's Cathedral.  The first name that we know of for the League was "The Catholic Grade School League". This name was given to the league in 1965. In 1966, the first girls sport was introduced, volleyball. This was followed by girls’ softball in 1969 and girls’ basketball in 1971. In 1970, the league had a name change to "The Catholic Athletic Conference". As the conference grew with more schools, so did the addition of more sports. Track & Field meets were added on Saturdays in the early 70's, along with flag football. For two more years, from 1976 to 78, the conference was run from the office of the C.Y.O. (Catholic Youth Organization). This was the start of the Archdiocese overseeing the conference. 

In the early 80's two more sports were added, cross country & soccer. Then volleyball and softball tournaments were also added. In 1982 the name was changed to "The All Catholic Conference" as it is known today.  This was also when the Archdiocese Department of Schools appointed a moderator to oversee the running of the Conference. In 1989, the Conference added two new events, the Coaches Olympics and the Jr. Olympics for the children in the Conference. In 1993, the 1st Annual Coaches Awards Dinner was held.  In 1999, two more new sports were added: boys’ and girls’ Spring volleyball. Also in 1999 the Conference started the Coaches Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. 

In 2000 came the addition of girls’ Jr. Varsity volleyball and basketball. After years of being idle, flag football was also reinstated. Also the Conference sponsored the first Tri-county Championships for private schools in three sports: cross country, cheerleading, & track & field. In the year 2001, the Conference added three more sports, Jr. Varsity boys’ soccer, Primary boys’ basketball & girls’ varsity flag football. In 2007 a Primary sport was added, boys’ and girls’ soccer. Also the first boys’ and girls’ basketball playoff was introduced with schools classified in 4A, 3A 2A & 1A competing for the first Maria Alonso Memorial trophy. In 2008, the first girls’ volleyball playoff was introduced with schools competing for the first Joan Dembowski Memorial trophy. In 2011, the Golden Knight Scholar Athlete Service Award was started. In 2013, the first Varsity boys’ flag football classification playoff was held. In 2014, the first Varsity girls’ flag football championship was held. In 2015, the first boys’ and girls’ soccer classification playoffs were held. The first Varsity baseball classification playoff was held in 2016. 

In 2017-2018 the conference instituted the Play Like a Champion Today Catholic Character Education Program. The Jerry Streit Memorial Trophy was introduced.  From the original 8 schools that started 61 years ago, we have grown to 27 member schools with a total of 38 sports. (We have also had an additional six schools in the Conference that have closed). The conference has also had 13 presidents or directors who have shown their leadership in a variety of ways. We have also had many moderators who have supported the Conference. Thanks to all for making the conference such a success!